Seniors Honored During Area Agency On Aging Awards Ceremony

  • 8/23/2019 12:04:09 PM
  • Sartaj Singh
  • Local News

ONTARIO, OH - LLocal area seniors, safe drivers, and more were recognized during the 2019 Ohio District 5 Area Agency On Aging Awards Ceremony on Thursday. 

"These individuals give their time as volunteers," Duana Patton, CEO of the Ohio District 5 Area Agency on Aging, said. "We all know that in our communities that it takes a village."

Patton went on to say each individual is being recognized for the contributions they have provided to the community, and showing how generous people can be. 

The 2019 Outstanding Senior Citizens Awards went to Ronald and Mary Ann Dull of Ashland County, Dave Bush of Crawford County, Larry McGlinchy of Huron County, Dorothy Thompson of Knox County, Elizabeth Feliciano of Marion County, Patricia Maxwell of Morrow County, Thomas Kranz of Richland County, Mary Lee Creeger of Seneca County, and Clara Eklebarry of Wyandot County. 

Ashland American Legion from Ashland received that 2019 Community Service Award. 

Recipients were all nominated by residents in the local community. Along with the nomination, residents had to submit an explanation on why these individuals should be recognized. 

An advisory board is then formed and is tasked to select which nominations will receive an award at the Area Agency on Aging Award Ceremony. 

"I can tell you that everyone that was nominated is very deserving," Patton said. "What we are going to be celebrating today is top notch people that have put hours and hours of time into their community."

More Local News

Our top stories from around the area

Local News

More stories from around the area - Mansfield and North Central Ohio News Sports and Weather